Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.
nass banner new


0 15

Two Senators have formally resigned from their positions as the Minority and Majority leaders of the Senate. The senators who are Sen. Enyinnaya Abaribe (Minority Leader) and Sen. Yahaya Abdullahi (Majority Leader) formally resigned following their defection from the political parties they got elected.

Sen. Abaribe abandoned the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) to pitch his tent with the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA), while Sen. Abdullahi defected to PDP from the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC).

This was announced by the Senate President, Ahmad Lawan while reading their resignation letters at the resumption of plenary on Tuesday.
Giving reasons for his defection, Senator Yahaya Abdullahi, in his resignation letter, stated that he left APC due to lack of internal democracy in the party.

“Politics is local. I can’t continue to work for the government at the centre while my people are wallowing in abject poverty.

“After failing to get justice in APC, I have moved to the PDP,” Senator Abdullahi said.

The resignation of the two senators have created a vacancy which needs to be filled.

Subscribe to our newsletter
Sign up here to get the latest news, updates and special offers delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.