Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.
nass banner new

Major Senators Who Won’t Be Returning To The 9th Assembly And Why

0 112

Adeboye Omoboye

As we all know that the general elections have come and gone. 

Last Thursday, President Muhammadu Buhari pronounced the dissolution of the eight session of the National Assembly and as well ushered in the ninth session of the parliament.

1. David Mark

David Mark who retired from politics to become a peace ambassador will not be returning to the senate. He was succeeded by Patrick Abba Moro (PDP) in Benue South

2. Shehu Sani

Shehu Sani, having fallen out with the Kaduna State Governor, Nasir El-Rufai, left the APC and joined the PRP, but eventually lost his seat to Sani Uba, an APC candidate in Kaduna Central

3. Mao Ohuabunwa

Mao Ohuabunwa of PDP lost the Abia North Senatorial district to former governor, senator, and APC candidate Kalu Orji Uzor

4. Godswill Akpabio 

Godswill Akpabio of Akwa Ibom North West, lost his seat to Christopher Stephen Ekpenyong of the PDP

5. Olusegun Mimiko

Olusegun Mimiko who was the candidate of Zenith Labour Party (ZLP) for Ondo Central Senatorial District, lost to Akinyelure Patrick Ayo , candidate of the PDP

6. Rafiu Ibrahim

Rafiu Ibrahim of Kwara South was arrested 24 hours to the presidential and National Assembly elections. He was brought in for questioning after the attack on Ashiru Oyelola Yisa of the APC. Rafiu Ibrahim eventually lost to the APC candidate

7. Nazif Gamawa 

Nazif Gamawa failed in his attempt to return as the senator for Bauchi North, and lost to APC’s Bulkachuwa Adamu Muhammad

8. Victor Umeh

Victor Umeh of APGA lost to Uche Lilian Ekwunife (PDP) in Anambra Central.

9. Mohammed Hassan

Mohammed Hassan of the PDP lost his seat to Bomai Ibrahim Mohammed of the APC in Yobe South.

10. Dr. Bukola Saraki

Dr. Bukola Saraki was defeated in all the four local government areas in the Kwara Central senatorial district by Oloriegbe Yahaya Ibrahim (APC)

Subscribe to our newsletter
Sign up here to get the latest news, updates and special offers delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.