Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.
nass banner new

Inauguration: Buhari, governors take oath of office

0 129

Inauguration: Buhari, governors take oath of office


President Muhammadu Buhari and 29 state governors-elect who emerged winners from the 2019 general elections will today, Wednesday, May 29, take their oath of office.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) declared President Buhari the winner of the 2019 presidential election.

According to the electoral body, Buhari polled 15,191,847 votes to defeat his closest rival Atiku Abubakar of the PDP who polled 11,262,978 to lose the election with a margin of 3,928,869 votes.

Though Atiku who claimed he scored 18,356,732 votes to defeat Buhari whom he claimed scored 16,741,430 votes is challenging the election at the presidential election tribunal, the tribunal has dismissed the suit seeking to stop the inauguration of President Buhari.

The suit was filed by Hope Democratic Party (HDP) and Ambrose Oworu, its presidential candidate.

However, today’s inauguration for a second term is expected be a low-key affair, according to the minister of information and culture, Lai Mohammed.

Numerous national and world leaders may not be present at the inauguration.

The minister, however, said invitations have been sent to all world leaders to attend the ceremonies marking the observance of the Democracy Day on June 12.

”Since the first observance of June 12 as Democracy Day falls into an election year, and as a measure to sustain June 12 as Democracy Day, the celebration of the inauguration and the advancement of democracy in the country will now take place on June 12,” the minister said.

Subscribe to our newsletter
Sign up here to get the latest news, updates and special offers delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.