Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.
nass banner new

Imo State University to take over Okorocha’s university

0 221

Imo State University to take over Okorocha’s university

The Imo State University (IMSU) is to take over the Eastern Palm University allegedly owned by immediate past Governor of Imo State, Senator Rochas Okorocha, social sciences campus.

This was part of the resolution proferred by the Committee on Review of Newly Established Tertiary Institutions in Imo State headed by former Vice Chancellor of the Federal University of Technology Owerri (FUTO), Prof Jude Njoku.

Other members include Prof C. Ogbonna of Abia State University; Prof N. Okereke; and Prof I. Dozie amongst others.

At a media briefing on Wednesday in Owerri, the Committee reeled out some of their recommendations after investigations to newsmen to include conversion of Eastern Palm University to Imo State University.

According to them, Eastern Palm University was approved by the National Universities Commission (NUC) as the second State University for Imo State and not as a private university.

Prof Njoku said “Eastern Palm University now approved as the second State University for Imo State by NUC, the land was acquired while compensation was paid by Imo State Government but no Memoranda of Understanding shows that Rochas Foundation College owns the institution.
“Staff of Lands Ministry showed us claims of payment by Imo State government.
“We recommend that since it was approved as the second state university, it should be converted to the social sciences campus of the Imo State University”.

Furthermore, the committee called for the setting up of a judicial panel of inquiry to ascertain the true ownership of Eastern Palm University, Ogboko.

Also, the Committee recommended that the Imo State University of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, Aboh/Okpala, and the University of Science and Technology, Umuna, established by Okorocha should remain as campuses of the Imo State University.

On the four newly created polytechnics by Okorocha, the committee submitted that only the Imo State Polytechnic, Umuagwo, should stand, while Bishop Shananah Polytechnic, should remain as the Orlu campus of the institution.

Okorocha had within a month before he left office, announced the setting up of four new universities, and and four people in the state.

Subscribe to our newsletter
Sign up here to get the latest news, updates and special offers delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.