Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.
nass banner new

Senators that lose re-election bid-nassnewsng.com

0 132

Senators that lose re-election bid

24 senators lose re-election bid

Twenty-four out of the 66 senators who sought for a re-election into the 9th Senate have lost out at the National Assembly elections, which held alongside the Presidential elections last Saturday. A total of 33 senators earlier lost out in primary elections, which took place in October last year.

The senators that sought for return bids, but lost at the polls, as declared by the Independent National Electoral Commissioner (INEC) are the President of the Senate, Dr. Bukola Saraki (PDP, Kwara Central), Godswill Akpabio (APC, Akwa Ibom West), Nazif Gamawa (PDP, Bauci) Rafiu Ibrahim (PDP, Kwara South), Tayo Ala soadura (APC, Ondo Central) and Yele Omogunwa (Ondo South). Others are Senators Suleiman Hunkuyi (PDP, Kaduna North), Monsurat Sunmonu (ADC, Oyo Central), Rilwan Adesoji (ADP, Oyo South), Abiodun Olujimi (PDP, Ekiti South), Duro Faseyi (PDP, Ekiti North), Mao Ohuabunwa (PDP, Abia North), Andy Uba (APC, Anambra South) and Victor Umeh (APC Anambra Central).

Other serving senators in the category of those who lost on Saturday include: Senators Shittu Ubali (PDP, Jigawa North East), Shehu Sani (PRP, Kaduna Central), Mohammed Hassan (PDP, Yobe South) and Binta Masi Garba (APC, Adamawa North). Also among the losers are Senators Hamman Isa Misau (PDP, Bauchi Central), Ahmed Ogembe (PDP, Kogi Central), Attai Aidoko (PDP, Kogi East), Barnabas Gemade (SDP, Benue North East), Bob Effiong (APC, Akwa Ibom), and David Umaru (APC Niger East). Going by the above statistics, it means that a total of 66 senators in the Senate won’t return as eight others went for governorship primaries and succeeded.

However, the casualty figure might further increase among the remaining 41 senators, since not all of them have been declared winners in the Saturday elections. Consequently, while only about 40 of the serving senators will be among the elected 109 senators for the 9th Senate, most of the remaining 69 others will be first timers who will take some time to learn parliamentary practice. It will be recalled that in the 7th Senate, when a similar high turnover hit the Upper Chamber, the then Senate Leader, Victor Ndoma-Egba, who was among those who lost out, lamented that the high turnover was affecting the efficiency of the nation’s apex parliament.

According to him, having more of newly elected lawmakers at the beginning of every session, will impact negatively on the parliament as precious time that should be used in carrying out important legislative functions will be used in giving training on parliamentary practice to the first timers.

Subscribe to our newsletter
Sign up here to get the latest news, updates and special offers delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.