Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.
nass banner new

Kano State Assembly News 



The Kano State House of Assembly has cleared 32 out of the 44 local government chairmanship nominees presented to it by Governor Abdullahi Ganduje for approval.

Alhaji Ibrahim Garko, the Chairman, House Committee on Local Government, while presenting the report of the committee that screened the nominees, said three of them were disqualified, while nine had “pending” cases.

The Speaker, Alhaji Abdullahi Ata, on Monday read a letter submitted by the governor containing the names of the 44 nominees and directed the committee to screen them.

Garko told his colleagues on Wednesday that the nominees for Fagge, Garko and Dawakin Kudu Local Governments were disqualified and rejected.t

He said: “The nominee for Fagge was disqualified because he is not a career civil servant; the one for Garko was dropped because of ‘geographical spread’, while Dawakin, Kudu nominee was disqualified because of his ‘lack of manners’ during the screening.

He said that the 32 nominees cleared got the nod based on their working experience, qualifications, age and integrity.

The report was unanimously adopted and approved at the plenary session presided over by the Speaker.

The PDP has, however, gone to court to restrain the state government and the legislators from appointing an interim caretaker committee for the local governments.

The case filed before the State High Court was mentioned on June 30, with the presiding Judge and Acting Chief Judge of Kano State, Justice Nura Sagir, adjourning further hearing to July 24.


The Speaker, Kano State House of Assembly, Alhaji Kabiru Rurum, has resigned amidst allegation of collecting money to scuttle investigation on the Emir of Kano, Muhammad Sanusi II.
Rurum resigned in a letter read at plenary by the Deputy Speaker, Ibrahim Chidariof who presided over the sitting on Monday.
The former speaker was alleged to have collected N100 million from business mogul Aliko Dangote but failed to share the money to the members.
He had earlier at a news briefing before the assembly went on Sallah recess, denied the allegation and threatened to sue an online media group that first published the report.
The deputy speaker, who read the letter, said Rurum resigned to protect his image due to allegations bordering on corruption leveled against him by some of the members.
Shortly after the letter was read and accepted, the lawmakers elected the Majority Leader of the Assembly, Alhaji Abdullahi Atta as the new Speaker.
Atta, who represents Fagge constituency, was nominated for the position by Babangida Yakudima and Zubairu Mamuda and the nomination was unanimously accepted by the members including Rurum who was at the sitting.

Subscribe to our newsletter
Sign up here to get the latest news, updates and special offers delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time

Comments are closed.